About us

The Canadian Association for Teacher Education (CATE) promotes dialogue on teacher education, research and collaboration in this field across Canada. CATE is a constituent association of the Canadian Society for the Study of Education.

Our mission

 
 
President / 2018-2020
Michele Jacobsen
University of Calgary
dmjacobs@ucalgary.ca
 
CATE/ACFE - Jodi Nickel
 
Past President / 2018-2020
Jodi Nickel
Mont Royal University
jnickel@mtroyal.ca
 
 
Vice President / 2018-2020
Cathryn Smith
Brandon University
smithc@brandonu.ca
 
 
Secretary-Treasurer / 2018-2020
Christine Massing
University of Regina
Christine.Massing@uregina.ca
 
 
Communications Director / 2018-2020
Alexandre Mesquita
Université de Sherbrooke
Alexandre.Alves.Mesquita@usherbrooke.ca
 
 
Communications Director / 2018-2020
Philippa Parks
McGill University
philippa.parks@gmail.com
 
 
Member-at-Large / 2017-2019
Caroline Riches
McGill University
caroline.riches@mcgill.ca
 
 
Member-at-Large / 2018-2020
Joy Chadwick
Mount Royal
jchadwick@mtroyal.ca
 
 
Membre francophone de l'exécutif / 2017-2019
Nathalie Pender
Memorial University
npender@grenfell.mun.ca
 
 
Student representative / 2017-2019
Trista Hollweck
University of Ottawa
tholl075@uottawa.ca
 
 
Student representative / 2018-2020
Mary Ott
Western University
mott2@uwo.ca
 

COMMITTEE representatives

Canadian Journal of Education Rep: Blaine Hatt, Nipissing University (2017-2019), blaineh@nipissingu.ca
CSSE New Scholar Committee: Sheryl McMath, Fraser Valley, (2018-2020), Sheryl.MacMath@ufv.ca.
CATE Award for Contributions to Teacher Education Research Committee: Patricia Danyluk, University of Calgary, (2017-2019), patricia.danyluk@ucalgary.ca; Jennifer Robinson Anderson, Memorial University, (2017-2019), jranderson@mun.ca; Sheryl McMath, Fraser Valley, (2018-2020), Sheryl.MacMath@ufv.ca.

See here for a list of the duties relating to each executive position.