About us

The Canadian Association for Teacher Education (CATE) promotes dialogue on teacher education, research and collaboration in this field across Canada. CATE is a constituent association of the Canadian Society for the Study of Education.

Our mission

 
CATE/ACFE - Jodi Nickel
 
President / 2016-2018
Jodi Nickel
Mount Royal
jnickel@mtroyal.ca
 
CATE/ACFE - Julie Mueller
 
Past President / 2016-2018
Julie Mueller
Wilfrid Laurier
jmueller@wlu.ca
 
CATE/ACFE - Michele Jacobsen
 
Vice President / 2016-2018
Michele Jacobsen
Calgary
dmjacobs@ucalgary.ca
 
CATE/ACFE - Nancy Maynes
 
Secretary-Treasurer / 2016-2018
Nancy Maynes
Nipissing
nancym@nipissingu.ca
 
 
Communications Director / 2016-2018
Alexandre Mesquita
Sherbrooke
Alexandre.Alves.Mesquita@usherbrooke.ca
 
CATE/ACFE - Manu Sharma
 
Member-at-Large / 2015-2017
Manu Sharma
Windsor
msharma@brocku.ca
 
CATE/ACFE - Leyton Schnellert
 
Member-at-Large / 2016-2018
Leyton Schnellert
UBCO
leyton.schnellert@ubc.ca
 
 
Membre francophone de l'exécutif / 2015-2017
Nathalie Pender
Memorial
npender@grenfell.mun.ca
 
CATE/ACFE - Nan Stevens
 
Student representative / 2016-2017
Nan Stevens
Thompson Rivers
nstevens@tru.ca
 
CATE/ACFE - Diana Royea
 
Student representative / 2016-2018
Diana Royea
University of British Columbia
diana.royea@alumni.ubc.ca
 

COMMITTEE representatives

Canadian Journal of Education Rep: Karen Ragoonaden (UBCO) 2015-2017, karen.ragoonaden@ubc.ca
CSSE New Scholar Committee: Marcea Ingersoll (STU) 2016-2018, marcea@stu.ca
CATE Award for Contributions to Teacher Education Research Committee: Victorina Baxan, 2016-2018 – Caroline Riches (McGill) 2015-2017 – caroline.riches@mcgill.ca, Nancy Maynes (Nipissing) 2015-2017 – nancym@nipissingu.ca.

See here for a list of the duties relating to each executive position.