About us

The Canadian Association for Teacher Education (CATE) promotes dialogue on teacher education, research and collaboration in this field across Canada. CATE is a constituent association of the Canadian Society for the Study of Education.

Our mission

 
CATE/ACFE - Jodi Nickel
 
President / 2016-2018
Jodi Nickel
Mount Royal
jnickel@mtroyal.ca
 
CATE/ACFE - Julie Mueller
 
Past President / 2016-2018
Julie Mueller
Wilfrid Laurier
jmueller@wlu.ca
 
CATE/ACFE - Michele Jacobsen
 
Vice President / 2016-2018
Michele Jacobsen
University of Calgary
dmjacobs@ucalgary.ca
 
CATE/ACFE - Nancy Maynes
 
Secretary-Treasurer / 2016-2018
Nancy Maynes
Nipissing University
nancym@nipissingu.ca
 
 
Communications Director / 2016-2018
Alexandre Mesquita
Université de Sherbrooke
Alexandre.Alves.Mesquita@usherbrooke.ca
 
 
Member-at-Large / 2017-2019
Caroline Riches
McGill University
caroline.riches@mcgill.ca
 
CATE/ACFE - Leyton Schnellert
 
Member-at-Large / 2016-2018
Leyton Schnellert
University of British Columbia
leyton.schnellert@ubc.ca
 
 
Membre francophone de l'exécutif / 2017-2019
Nathalie Pender
Memorial University
npender@grenfell.mun.ca
 
 
Student representative / 2017-2019
Trista Hollweck
University of Ottawa
tholl075@uottawa.ca
 
CATE/ACFE - Diana Royea
 
Student representative / 2016-2018
Diana Royea
University of British Columbia
diana.royea@alumni.ubc.ca
 

COMMITTEE representatives

Canadian Journal of Education Rep: Blaine Hatt, Nipissing University (2017-2019), blaineh@nipissingu.ca
CSSE New Scholar Committee: Marcea Ingersoll (STU) 2016-2018, marcea@stu.ca
CATE Award for Contributions to Teacher Education Research Committee: Patricia Danyluk, University of Calgary, (2017-2019), patricia.danyluk@ucalgary.ca; Jennifer Robinson Anderson, Memorial University, (2017-2019), jranderson@mun.ca; Victorina Baxan, University of Toronto (2016-2018), victorina.baxan@gmail.com.

See here for a list of the duties relating to each executive position.