About us

The Canadian Association for Teacher Education (CATE) promotes dialogue on teacher education, research and collaboration in this field across Canada. CATE is a constituent association of the Canadian Society for the Study of Education.

Our mission

 
 
President /2020-2022
Cathryn Smith
Brandon University
smithc@brandonu.ca
 
CATE/ACFE - Michele Jacobsen
 
Past President /2020-2022
Michele Jacobsen
University of Calgary
dmjacobs@ucalgary.ca
 
CATE/ACFE - Leyton Schnellert
 
Vice President / 2020-2022
Leyton Schnellert
University of British Columbia
leyton.schnellert@ubc.ca
 
 
Secretary-Treasurer / 2020-2022
Julia Rheaume
Red Deer College
julia.rheaume@rdc.ab.ca
 
 
Communications Director / 2020-2022
Dr. Alexandre Mesquita
Université de Sherbrooke
Alexandre.Alves.Mesquita@usherbrooke.ca
 
 
Communications Director / 2020-2022
Sandra Becker
Calgary University
sandra.becker@ucalgary.ca
 
 
Member-at-Large /2019-2021
Dr. Candy Skyhar
Brandon University
SkyharC@BrandonU.CA
 
 
Member-at-Large /2020-2022
Heather McLeod
Memorial University
hmcleod@mun.ca
 
 
Membre francophone / 2019-2021
Dr. Mimi Masson
University of Ottawa
mmasson@uottawa.ca
 
 
Student representative / 2019-2021
Mandeep Kaur Gabhi
Queen’s University
mandeep.gabhi@queensu.ca
 
 
Student representative / 2020-2022
Philippa Parks
McGill University
philippa.parks@gmail.com
 

COMMITTEE representatives

Canadian Journal of Education Rep: Dr. Sheryl MacMath, Fraser Valley, (2019–2021), Sheryl.MacMath@ufv.ca
CSSE New Scholar Committee: Dr. Jodi Nickel, Mount Royal University, (2020-2022), jnickel@mtroyal.ca
CATE Award for Contributions to Teacher Education Research Committee:  Dr. Jennifer Godfrey Anderson, Memorial University (2019-2021), jranderson@mun.ca; Dr. Lynn Thomas, Université de Sherbrooke, (2020-2022), Lynn.Thomas@USherbrooke.ca; Caroline Riches, McGill University, (2019-2021), caroline.riches@mcgill.ca

See the CATE Executive Duties for a list of the duties relating to each executive position.